Commissioners & Meetings

Commissioners & Meetings

The PUD is governed by three locally elected commissioners who serve six year staggered terms. The Commission is the legislative authority of the PUD and establishes and controls policy. Our Commissioners are here to serve you. Feel free to contact them anytime by phone or email (see below). Customers are invited to attend public meetings and be heard by the commission. For meeting details visit our Meeting Information and Meeting Minutes pages.

Curt Knapp:   (509) 671-1111
Ric Larson:    (509) 671-2982
Joe Onley:      (509) 671-1312


Curt K. Web

Curtis J. Knapp, President

Curtis J. Knapp was appointed in February 2002 to the Commission. He was elected in November 2002 and reelected in 2008, 2014 and again in 2020. A native of Washington, he holds a bachelor's degree in Psychology, with a minor in Business, and an Associate degree in Mortuary Science from Mt. Hood Community College. He and his wife Kim worked for over 25 years in the funeral business, owning and operating funeral homes in Newport, Washington and Priest River, Idaho. They sold the funeral home in 2006, but Mr. Knapp still serves as a deputy coroner for the County. He is the President of the Board of Directors for Energy Northwest, the District's current Board representative to Public Utility Risk Management Services, and is active in various civil and public utility organizations.

Rick L. Web

Richard A. Larson, Vice President

Richard A. Larson was first elected to the Commission in 2010 for a six-year term, and subsequently elected to another six-year term in 2016. A life-long resident of the County, he worked 30 years for the District, initially as a lineman, and later as a line foreman. After retiring in 2004, Mr. Larson became an instructor in electrical craft training for several pre-apprenticeship programs in the State,. including the Avista Line School in Spokane. During his tenure with the District, he served several years with the International Brotherhood of Electric Workers as a labor negotiator. Mr. Larson also has entrepreneurial experience, owning Larson Mini Storage for approximately 20 years. He currently represents the District at the Tri-County Economic Development District and Pend Oreille County Economic Development Council.

Joe O. Web

Joseph B. Onley, Secretary

Joseph B. Onley, Joe, was elected to the PUD Commission District 1 for a six year term beginning his service January 1, 2019. Mr. Onley served in the Air Force preceding his education at Spokane Community College and Gonzaga achieving a BS Degree in Electrical Engineering. Mr. Onley was a District employee for over 30 years where he managed the fiber connectivity to Pend Oreille County in 2000 for all Schools, Colleges, Libraries, Health, and Government. He then obtained and managed a federal grant in 2010 in excess of $27 million dollars to deploy wholesale fiber connections to businesses and residences in a significant portion of Pend Oreille County (where allowed) with federal funds. He served nearly 20 years on the Planning Commission, 10 years as a District 3 Firefighter, and is in the learning phase of the Commission local and regional representation.